Why I Hate my English Major

a2fcdea7e3bd697b8a6e17d7501b67cf

If you’re like me, you had no idea what you wanted to do once you left high school, you just knew you wanted to go to college because that’s what ‘everyone does’.

Just because everyone’s jumping off a bridge, doesn’t mean you jump too.

Ah, but going to college is what everyone expects you to do, especially if you want to get out of your home town. The way I saw it in my home town, you had two options.

  1. Go to college
  2. Stay in the town and marry your high school sweet heart/ have a baby

I mean this in the nicest way, I went to school with some great people but staying in that town wasn’t going to help me. Most of the kids I went to school with were farmers sons and daughters, they worked on the farm their whole life and they were going to work their for the rest of their lives. Sometimes I wonder when it would have been like if I had taken that path instead, there is something charming about a mid-west farm town.

There were also a few teachers in middle school/high school that told my parents that I would never amount to anything and I wasn’t intelligent enough for college. I was tossed in ‘slow reading’ classes and yet I read two grade levels above where I was supposed to be. I even tested out of most of those classes but I told them I wanted to stay (easy A and I was already pissed about wasting three weeks in the class).

So college was basically my way of ‘sticking it to the man’.

They tell you once you’re in college, to study something you love and you’ll never work a day in your life. And that, my friends, is exactly what happens when you study something you enjoy. I’m turning 26 and still working at the same place as I was when I was in college.

I didn’t know what I wanted to major in, so I just went with something I enjoy. I liked reading, I liked writing. Boom! An English major was born!

be1410eff46e8c870af690319bb07ca17f3bdb875dc6efc4f009c99a32cb078a

Don’t get me wrong! I love my English major (check back next week for a post on Why I Love my English Major) but there are a few things I hate hearing about it. Here are a few things that get said to me regarding my degree that I absolutely hate being asked/told.

  • Do you want to be a teacher?
  • So what do you do with that?
  • I guess you never use that in real life then?
  • There’s a spelling/grammatical error in your post, I thought you majored in English.
  • So have you published a book yet?

The last thing I wanted to do with my English major was become a teacher. I love kids, but at a certain age, I start to be terrified of them.

I do use my English degree. I work in an office where I have to type everyday and speak clearly, I get asked how to spell things all the time at work. I may not be an English teacher or write for an actual living, but I do use things I learned while in college. I also started this blog that I’m really enjoying… so there’s that.

And guess what, everyone makes mistakes. So what? I spelled something wrong? Who cares, just you Grammar Nazi.

As for book publishing. I’m trying my hardest. My dream would be to become a full-time author. Sitting at home, writing all day, it sounds perfect but it takes time. I’m currently editing something I started two years ago. Goal is to have it completed before the year is up.

If you’re thinking about majoring in English, don’t let anyone let you feel like it’s the dumb thing to do. I don’t regret my major at all, I just hate the stupid things people assume about it. Knowing every classic book might not be as beneficial as anything you would learn as a mathematics major but it’s still a fun thing to brag about, right?

Come back next week to see why I love my English major!

 

Leave a Reply

