My Top 5 YA Summer Reads

PINtvuh

Ah, summer is almost here! I can see my husbands skin turning into a lobster from the summer sun already, lawnmowers are up and moving, and all the neighborhood kids have come out from their winter hibernation to wreak havoc. Me? I’m where I usually am, avoiding sunlight and the heat. Lying on the couch with my blanket, reading my life away when I’m not required to be at work. It’s perfect. I do recommend you go out and enjoy the nice weather, but if you’re not outdoorsy, here’s some of my favorite young adult summer reads that will make you gush over all the potential fictional boyfriends!

The following are all books that I have read, next month I’ll be posting some books that I want to read this summer!

 

5.) Stolen by Lucy Christopher

In this book, Gemma writes a letter to her kidnapper, Ty who kidnapped her from an airport and takes her out to the middle of a desert in Australia. This isn’t a ‘feel good contemporary romance, but you will ‘feel the heat’ coming from this desert because it’s described so much. I read this a few years ago and this book is still one of my favorites! It deals with Stockholm Syndrome and the idea that you can’t make someone love you. If we were talking about all time favorite books, this would be higher on my list, but since we’re talking YA summer reads, I put it last on my list because it’s not a ‘easy read’. This book brought so many emotions out in me. If you haven’t read this book, pick it up right now!

4195ti426SL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

4.) Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Are you not a beach bunny? Do you prefer lakes? Second chance summer is the book for you! Taylor and her family have just received devastating news so they decide they need to spend one last summer at their lake house. The family starts coming closer together and of course Taylor’s old boyfriend from the lake walks back into her life. This one is definitely more up-lifting than Stolen. I’d read this as a pick-me-up after you finish Stolen.

 

11071466

3.) Anything by Sarah Dessen!

Am I the only one who loves Sarah Dessen’s books? I love that she bases them all out of the same cute little beach town, Colby. I couldn’t just pick one to recommend but my favorites were Just Listen, The Truth About Forever and This Lullaby. Colby boys are the greatest! The perfect companions for your summer break!

635935191930077950-813232383_large%20(1)

 

2.) The Summer I Turned Pretty Series by Jenny Han

This series is one of the best I have read in YA Contemporary, and my favorite of Han’s. I devoured this series! We follow a girl named Belly who dreams of summer break at the beach house. She’s town between two brothers, Conrad and Jeremiah who are family friends. There are so many twists and turns throughout this book series. If I didn’t have so many books on my TBR, I would read them again.

summer-series

1.) 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

My all time favorite summer book and possibly my favorite book period is this one. Not only is the cover and dust jacket beautiful but it’s such a great summer read. I don’t normally 5 star a book, but I did on this one. The book is written in days (which is why it’s called 99 Days, obviously). I’m just going to copy and paste my GoodReads review so you can see how happy I was to read this. So many people have given this book 2 stars or below and that breaks my heart because I loved it so much.

If I died tomorrow, I would die happy with this book being the final one that I read. The dust jacket is adorable and I’m not going to lie, I might have only bought it because of the cat picture inside.

Now, let’s be real. I feel like this book was written for me. There’s not many books that have made me feel that way, but this was one of them. Cotugno, created so many 4-diminsional characters, me relating and understanding all of them. I had this huge hatred for Julia though. I’d describe this If I died tomorrow, I would die happy with this book being the final one that I read. The dust jacket is adorable and I’m not going to lie, I might have only bought it because of the cat picture inside.

Now, let’s be real. I feel like this book was written for me. There’s not many books that have made me feel that way, but this was one of them. Cotugno, created so many 4-diminsional characters, me relating and understanding all of them. I had this huge hatred for Julia though. I’d describe this book as the ‘what happens after a love triangle goes to shit’ book. I’ve read so many young adult love triangles that end with a ‘happily ever after’, but this book… this tells you the messy truth. I wanted to defend Molly Barlow’s actions so much because I’ve been in her shoes. IT TAKES TWO TO TANGO! It wasn’t the ending I was hoping for, but I think it’s the ending the book needed.

This one is going on my favorites shelf.

And Katie Cotugno, if you’re reading this, please write a sequel! I feel like the story of Molly, Gabe and Patrick still needs attention. Thanks for showing me it wasn’t Molly’s fault, and it wasn’t mine either.

maxresdefault

 

And that concludes my YA Summer Read Recommendations! Read on!

101-dalmations-books

the-cats-of-summer-2015-ftr

One thought on “My Top 5 YA Summer Reads

Leave a Reply

