World’s Worst (NaNoWriMo) Camper

Well, another month of Camp Nanowrimo has come and gone. I’m just sitting at my desk, my eye twitching while staring at that little target that only says 50% finished. My plan was to finish editing a novel I previously started and add on the ending, but that didn’t really happen.

giphy

 

What did happen is a ton of changes to my novel. GOOD CHANGES. I finally feel like my novel is going somewhere instead of just sitting on my laptop, taking up space. So what changes have I made?

  • I expanded my novel from only being a one month time, to a whole summer.
  • My main character is now a year older, on the brink of college. This made it more believable that a college guy would fall for her.
  • I took out my death scene, it was unnecessary drama in a YA Contemporary.
  • I’m planning on shelling out my characters more.
  • I’ve turned my camper into a junior counselor, giving her an extra week at the beginning of the novel to get to know her surroundings.
  • Will be changing the name, currently it’s called ‘The Last July’.
  • I also took out every part where I was writing a male perspective. I can’t write male perspective…

ezgif-2113053308

I started this novel with 31,651 words and ended with 26,894 words… I took out about 8k words and I’m still taking out parts but I’m also adding in way more quality sections. What I felt when I took out all those chunks of words was awful, that’s why I hate editing. It feels terrible when you wrote so many words, only to realize that you need to delete all the progress you made. I guess that’s why they say you should never edit during camp!

 

Here’s a screenshot of my statistics:

Screen shot 2016-04-30 at 5.53.55 PMScreen shot 2016-04-30 at 5.54.09 PM

One thing that drives me nuts, is when I get assigned to a cabin and no one writes! I like the competition! I’m a competitive person when it comes to things I’m doing. The last two Camp Nano cabins I’ve been assigned to have been lacking. If you enjoy doing Camp NaNoWriMo, let me know! We can be cabin buddies!

So here’s my new plan! The next round of camp starts in June, I’m going to keep writing through May, sign up for camp again, finish my novel in June and then I’m going to have my husband help with edits. And then…. hopefully The Last July or whatever I end up titling it will get published.

sdfs

 

Leave a Reply

