The Raven boys Book Review

untitled

For a very long time I debated on whether I wanted to read The Raven Cycle series, but 51zb1Ggd5VL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_finally I got around to it. I just finished the first book The Raven Boys and it was not what I expected! I won’t be doing my normal syllabus grading for this review because I think it surpasses the grading scale. Once you get over the slow pace of this book, you’ll soon fall in love with the characters… every single one of the characters. Well, all of them except for Whelk.

 

 

 

 

Blue the daughter of a psychic in the small town of Henrietta, she lives with her mom and three other colorful psychics. From a young age, her mother told her that when she kisses her true love, he will die. X-Men much?

tumblr_inline_nsa9jb5zH21ripgeb_500

She’s also the only one she lives with who has never seen a spirit, that is until she sees an Aglionby student’s spirit on St. Mark’s Eve. Will this be the person she kills with her kiss? The Raven Boys mean trouble, Blue tries to stay away from them until Gansey, Adam and Ronan show up for a reading.

To me, Gansey was Peter Pan and he was the leader of his own group of lost boys, Noah, Adam and Ronan. While Blue was definitely Wendy Darling. Taking care of the boys as they go on this adventure of finding the ley line.

tumblr_mfgm0kAKVq1rkcugio1_500.gif

Am I the only one who felt like this book was very Peter Pan-esque?!?!

tumblr_lzv961D3gv1qm47dmo1_500

Overall, I think these characters are developed really well and the story isn’t too slow or forced. I love all the characters, especially Adam and Gansey. The baby raven Ronan keeps as a pet is even a well planned character!

I’m also not a huge fan of putting more than four characters in a story but Maggie did great with shelling out each and every person mentioned in these books. I could really see the characters, not just the boys, but Blue’s family too.

I’m a big fan of romance in YA, this one isn’t one of those, but the ‘aw’ moments are there, and when they happen, it’s still cute. I was surprised at how well Maggie doesn’t let this turn into a full out love triangle like most books.

 

***Spoiler***

The plot twist with Noah actually took me by surprise! Holy crap, I couldn’t believe it! But then, I started adding everything up just like the characters and it all started to make sense! He wasn’t at the reading, he sat as far as possible away from Blue in the car, and he wasn’t always around when he should have been. Well played Miss. Stiefvater, well played.

I cannot wait to read the rest of this series. The only thing I’m worried about is this series hitting a wall. I read her Wolves of Mercy Falls series and loved the first book, but felt like the other two weren’t as good. I also can’t wait for next week! I’ll be going to a signing/book talk for Maggie Stiefvater, it will be the first book signing I’ve ever attended so I’m very excited.

The ending though, great set-up for the next book but it was so random. “I took Chainsaw out of my dreams.” What is that supposed to mean, Ronan?!

I also didn’t get why Gansey was so upset with Adam for letting Whelk be trampled. Whelk was a horrible person, he killed someone innocent, who cares about justice? An eye for an eye, right? I was very irritated that Gansey scolded Adam for that, that’s the only time in the book where I felt like Gansey was being a bit ridiculous.

***End Spoilers***

Now, onto The Dream Thieves! What should I expect from this one? I’ve heard it’s the best out of the series.

Favorite quote from the book: “Blue had two rules: Stay away from boys, because they’re trouble, and stay away from raven boys, because they were bastards.” Page 81

I’m not a huge fan of giving out five stars to books, but this one is obviously deserving of them.

FiveStar_BlogImage.jpg

 

 

 

One thought on “The Raven boys Book Review

Leave a Reply

