Discussion: Why I Love my English Major

Awhile back I did a post called Why I Hate my English Major, so I thought I’d now do my post on why I actually like my English degree. You can find the previous post here. With some people graduating high school, and heading into college this August, I thought this would be a decent post.

Reason #1 for why I love my English major:

I actually do use it in real life. Every day when I speak, I use it. Every time I open a book, I use it. Every time I’m working (even though I’m not a teacher), I use it. Every time I work on my novel, I use it. Yes, I’m not teaching English, translating, or working at a library, I still do use my major. I mean, I started a book blog! I’m typing to you right now!

TypingBla_zps17078424

Reason #2 for why I love my English major:

I can do this blog and justify it as I’m just using my degree. Every time I read, I can say that I’m doing my ‘job’/what I went to school for.Oh, I want to buy another book? Well look at me using my degree! Haha.

best-books-you-were-forced-to-read-in-school

Reason #3 for why I love my English major:

I enjoy it. I did exactly what people told me to do. “Major in something you love.” I get to daydream about things I want to write, read and travel to places that I want to see. While most people go home after work because their job is complete, I never stop, I get to go home read, blog about my thoughts on the book or what I’m writing. I love my ‘night time job’.

giphy.gif

So, this list is short, but hey! Who cares? If you’re thinking about going into an English major, do it as long as it’s what you love. But I also recommend that you minor or double major in something else that will get you a better paying job. Those school loans aren’t going to pay themselves!

student-loan.gif

Overall, my relationship with my English major is a love-hate type. Part of me wishes I never went to school because I’m in a job where only a high school degree is required and I don’t plan on switching jobs, but the other part of me appreciates every writing skill I acquired from a few professors. Mainly my novel/creative writing professor that I had almost every semester.

Sorry for such a short post, but it’s been a very busy weekend! I’ll be sure to put more thought and time into next weekends discussion post.

 

 

 

One thought on “Discussion: Why I Love my English Major

Leave a Reply

