The Dream Thieves Book Review

51R01tTjjtL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I finally finished The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater! Took me long enough didn’t it? I pretty much breezed through most of it while on my three day weekend at the lake house. As most of you know, I had the chance to go to Maggie’s book signing in early May. She asked me a question about her books: Did I cry while reading? My answer at the time was no, but boy did that change halfway through the second book in the Raven Cycle series.

Everyone has been going nuts over this series, and I was late to the party so to speak but I’m glad to be catching up without the delay of waiting for the next book to be published. I’m not going to lie, if I had to wait, I probably wouldn’t have finished this series. I’m not saying it’s a bad book series though, it’s actually very well written but it’s not my cup of tea as of right now. This series is plot driven and character driven to the tee! The only thing missing is my favorite troupe- love. Yes, there is love shadowing of sorts but not what I’m used to reading in other novels. If you’re looking for handholding, kissing, hugging and so on page after page, you won’t find it in this book. This book deals with friendship more than relationship love.

If you haven’t read this book/this series and you love paranormal young adult, I suggest you pick it up! In some places I lost interest, but Maggie does manage to pull you back in.

If you haven’t read this book, please close this window, spoilers ahead. Go ahead and subscribe to me for more book review, tags and discussions and once you’ve read the book, come back! Please! I want to bond together over books!

Spoilers

Remember when I mentioned I cried? I wasn’t lying. During the part where Noah and Blue are hanging out alone in Monmouth Manufacturing and then they kiss (he’s already dead, she can’t kill him), and they kiss and Blue tells us it’s her first and last kiss. Oh. My. God! That was probably my favorite scene of the entire series so far.

What I didn’t like was not getting to see Blue in this book as much. It was cool to finally see Ronan some more but I missed Blue. Blue as a character even notices that she’s being pushed away from the Raven Boys, they stop telling her things. Why? I also stopped enjoying Adam’s character in this book because he starts to harass Blue about kissing. Blue doesn’t need to justify why she won’t kiss him, but when it does come out and Blue says Adam isn’t her true love and Adam gets upset. That made me ever more upset with him, especially when he asks her to prove it. I really couldn’t feel any sympathy for Adam like I did in the first book.

Let’s talk about the ending: Ronan’s sexual preference came out of no where for me (or did it, I’m not really sure). I must be the most oblivious person because I figured it was Kavinsky who was questioning his own sexual preference and taking that out on Ronan. Not the other way. Kavinsky kept giving these snarky comments about Ronan being ‘gay’ and always following Gansey around (or Adam). I feel bad for not even thinking Ronan as gay. Am I the only one who didn’t think he was gay? I honestly didn’t believe it until I watched a few booktube reviews on the book. I figured Kavinsky was just being a jerk (boys will be boys, right?)

All I have to say is I can’t wait to see what happens with Blue and Gansey!

Overall, I’m giving this book 3 out of 5 stars. It was a well written book, there were a few amazing scenes but I wasn’t too pleased with most of it. I also didn’t like the weird relationship Maura is having with the Grey Man. What happened to Butternut? Are we over him? What makes Maura think it’s okay to date a hit man when there’s trouble brewing on the line!?

There won’t be a weekend discussion up this week due to my husband leaving for Germany in a few days. I want to spend as much time with him as possible so I’m not even opening my laptop and probably won’t open a book up either. We have a jammed packed weekend and I just want to enjoy it with him. We’ll be back to the normal post schedule on Book Tag Tuesday!

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Dream Thieves Book Review

    1. The scene with Noah and Blue… I had to stop reading because I was crying too much. I hardly ever cry when reading!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

