Bookshelf (Library) Tour 2016

I didn’t realize until I started this post that my bookshelves are actually one huge hot mess. So this is a bit embarrassing but maybe we can just pretend that this is a before post and I’m going to do an after sometime this year. Surprisingly, my shelves are kind of organized. This is me and my husbands books combined but this isn’t even all of them. There are three large moving boxes filled with books in our garage that we need to clean. Yes, clean. My husbands aunt had a house fire and some of the books she was giving to him were in that fire. They’re covered in soot on the outside, but the inside is fine. We’re going to be needing a new shelf soon, so we’ll be making some room soon.

11

Above is the overview of our ‘library’. The very top shelves hold misc items that just don’t fit anywhere in our house (Stu’s Star Wars legos, the model VW bug me and my dad made when I was younger, some of Stu’s notebooks from college and art supplies. I need to figure out what to do about these items. Whoops.

untitled

12

The three above pictures are obviously most of my YOUNG ADULT books along with various knickknacks. My favorite of those shelves has to be my Sarah Dessen/Jenny Han/Other YA Contemporary books!

34

The next bookshelf is our random shelf. It has all of Stu’s miniatures that he hand painted along with some SyFy books and historical non-fiction (those are some of the books from the fire). Only one of these books is actually mine, You by Caroline Kepnes.

567

The above bookshelves are again mostly Stu’s SyFy books with some memoirs, biographies, self-help and horror mixed in. The bottom shelf is actually just some of our text books from college that we couldn’t bring ourselves to get rid of.

89

Now we have my second favorite shelf above. It’s full of so much knowledge! Again, mostly Stu’s books, he’s the brains in this marriage. I like this book shelf because it’s where most of our books come together. We have our collection of bibles and books we consider classics. My favorite set of books has to be the pretty red and gold group of classics.

10

The final bookshelf in our library has even more bibles and various old books. The gigantic ones are actually just German medical dictionaries I believe, but they just look cool!

12

Ah, now to my favorites shelf. It’s ever changing. It contains some of my favorite books and some of my TBR books. I keep this one in our bedroom. The top shelf holds one of our wedding pictures and my jewelry, the next one just holds miscellaneous items like tissues, a bible and more jewelry. The middle shelf is favorites ending at Stolen and then my TBR starting at Enshadowed. The other books between those two are actually Stu’s TBR. The bottom shelf is where I keep my favorite comics/graphic novels, a copy of Stu’s series, my Twilight collection, another TBR book, a copy of The Odyssey (the first gift Stu got me) and some photo albums.

My goal for the rest of the year is to get our books better organized. How do you organize your books? By genre? Color? Author? Size?

2 thoughts on “Bookshelf (Library) Tour 2016

    1. Once I get another shelf, I think I’m going to organize by author’s last name in the genre. It’s more time consuming than one would think though! When we went by genre, it took about five hours!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

