Young Adult Book Shaming

When I was in college, I found the wonderful genre that we know as young adult. I couldn’t believe that there was something between children’s books and adult reading that fit what I wanted to read. At first, I was really embarrassed about reading books that are targeted to girls (and guys sometimes) under the age of 18. I mean, I was in my late teens/early twenties (I’m almost 26 right now) and a lot of my classmates were reading Shakespeare and other classics. I felt like a naive child because I couldn’t get into the great works of literature.

It was about two or three years ago when I stopped being embarrassed about reading books that weren’t for my age group. When I started watching BookTubers who were all gushing over my favorite books, that’s when my mind started changing about what I read. I began to realize it doesn’t really matter, as  long as I’m reading and enjoying what I’m reading.

Finally coming to this realization has made me actually want to start reading some classics in between my YA books. I’m currently reading Peter Pan and loving it! I’m never again going to force myself to read something I don’t enjoy. Have you had this problem? Where someone asks you what you’re reading and you cover the cover or make up a book title?

Here’s some of my favorite YA books (that I’ve read) that might make you feel better about reading YA:

Here’s what matters most, you should never judge someone by what they read. In college I had someone literally scoff at me because I told them my favorite book was Twilight. They claimed that it wasn’t a ‘real’ book and that Game of Thrones was way better. This caused me to never have the urge or want to read or watch GoT. If you like reading high fantasy, read it. If you like reading erotica, read it. If you like reading children’s books, read them.

Stop book shaming.

 

 

 

One thought on “Young Adult Book Shaming

  1. Great post!

    I’m 26 and read YA 90% of the time. I definitely feel like a lot of society unfairly judges the genre because there’s this awful stereotype that everything marketed for teenagers is unintelligent ect. YA gets such a bad rep despite there being some AMAZING stories out there.

    Stolen is one of my favourites. I’ve also been meaning to read The Coldest Girl in Cold Town for a while now.

    Book shaming is so unnecessary and needs to go away.

    Like

Leave a Reply

