How I Find Time to Read (…and tips to read more)

Reading is one of my favorite things to do, but sometimes it’s really hard to find time (it’s even harder for me to find time to write, but we’ll discuss that next week). Between my full time job, family, marriage, fur-babies, blogging and trying to stay healthy, it’s so hard to find time to sit down and read. I’ve also just started watching Game of Thrones and those episodes are so long! I’m sure a bunch of you  also suffer from not being able to find time to read (you might be a full time student, and I totally feel your pain. All that required reading and no time for fun reading). So this week, I thought I would give some tips on how I find time to read!

1.) Set a certain time every day/night to read and only read: I usually have the most time to read at night, right before bed. This also helps me sleep better. I usually go up to bed around 8:30 or 9, that way I can relax and read for an hour or two. I don’t have a TV in my bedroom to distract me from reading, I stop checking facebook and other social media once I’m up in bed, that way I can concentrate. I also turn on the Birdy Pandora station because it’s mostly relaxing pop songs that play, and it drowns out everything else in my house.

Uncle Fester Reading

2.) Take a book with you everywhere: I always make sure to have a book with me (unless I’m going to work). If you have an appointment, meeting, vacation, whatever, you might find time to read and you’ll be really bummed when you don’t have a book with you. I actually got this idea a long time ago from Gilmore Girls, Rory always had a book in her bag. If you bring a book along, you’ll never be bored.61811f80-b9d1-0131-55c3-7e676ac5e62b

3.) Reading slump? Take a break: This doesn’t happen often for me, but sometimes I do get sick of reading the book I chose. Don’t feel bad if you have to put the book back on your bookshelf unfinished. You can always come back to it at a later date! Maybe you’ll enjoy it better in a few months!giphy

4.) Give audiobooks a try: I’m not a huge fan of audio books, but when it comes to a book I’m wanting to re-read, I don’t mind listening to the audiobook instead. If you want to get into reading, this might be the best option for you. Or if you want to read one book, and listen to another, go for it! I just don’t listen to audiobooks because they put me to sleep really easy.AUDIO

5.) Join a book club or buddy read: Sometimes, you might not feel like reading a book because you have no one to discuss it’s pure awesomeness with. If you have this problem, join a book club (GoodReads has plenty of book clubs you might want to join) or read with a friend!

HG

 

 

2 thoughts on “How I Find Time to Read (…and tips to read more)

Leave a Reply

