Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

Title: Maybe Someday51oa4Mcn6WL._SX318_BO1,204,203,200_

Author: Colleen Hoover

Genre: New Adult

Rating: 2.5/5

Overall Emotions: Annoyed, giddy, pissed… all the emotions.

 




 

At twenty-two years old, Sydney has a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers Hunter’s cheating on her–and she is left trying to decide what to do next.

Sydney becomes captivated by Ridge, her mysterious neighbor. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. When their inevitable encounter happens, they soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one.

 




 

I think I might be the only person who doesn’t really like Colleen Hoover’s writing.

Oh god, I can practically hear all the gasps and hate right now, but I’m just not impressed with the characters she comes up with. Sorry, not sorry.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-29971-1375905492-8_preview

Last year I read the novella Maybe Not by Hoover and reviewed it on my super awkward booktube channel, you can watch that here. I thought the poor writing and character development was only because of the shortness of the book but after reading one of Hoover’s full novels, I’m not impressed and I probably won’t read any more. I know, that sounds really harsh but it was way too much drama for me and none of the characters are loveable.

Maybe Someday is told from alternating POV’s of Sydney and Ridge. If I had it my way though, I’d prefer to only hear Ridge’s POV. This book started off pretty well, then got boring and then brought me back in to only mess with my emotions. Toward the end, I just wanted to shake the crap out of Ridge for being such a jerk. I also wanted to smack Sydney for all of her internal dialogue. The only person I did enjoy in this book was Warren, which was strange because I hated him in the novella. I felt like he was the only one with common sense.

New adult books are always a miss for me, never a hit. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s because all the authors struggle to write in a 20-something’s POV instead of a teen POV. I felt like Sydney was way younger than 22. She still has tons of growing up to do. As for Ridge, I more so imagined him in his early 20’s or late teens.

I admit it was very interesting reading a book where the main character is deaf. I was really curious as to how Hoover was going to manage that. Between texting, emails and lip-reading, I think the relationship between Sydney and Ridge bloomed decently.

loudlygif.gif

As for lyrics placed into the book since Ridge is a musician, I wasn’t a huge fan of that. Most of the lyrics were super cheesy and I couldn’t see a rock band playing them. They were way too straight forward and teenage angst for my taste.

There were some super adorable parts to this book that had me screaming for Ridge and Sydney to be together but there were also some parts where I was completely over their drama!

I’m just going to leave this review at that because if I say anything else, I might spoil it a bit too much.

Cheers!

M_2myO.gif

Do you recommend any other Colleen Hoover books? Or should I just abandon reading her all together?

 

Leave a Reply

