Outcast: Volume 1 Review

Title: Outcast Vol. 1 A Darkness Surrounds Him

Author: Robert Kirkman & Paul Azacetaoutcastvol1_cover

Genre: Horror, thriller comic

Overall Emotions: Horrified

Rating: 4/5 Stars




 

NEW HORROR SERIES FROM THE WALKING DEAD CREATOR ROBERT KIRKMAN! Kyle Barnes has been plagued by demonic possession all his life and now he needs answers. Unfortunately, what he uncovers along the way could bring about the end of life on Earth as we know it. Collects OUTCAST BY KIRKMAN & AZACETA #1-6.

 




 

It’s always tough for me to review comics/graphic novels because there really isn’t an end. This was no exception with this one. I heard about this when I went to Walking Dead Day in Cynthiana last summer, it was an advertisement in the back of the free comic they gave out and when I saw Kirkman wrote it, I knew I wanted to check it out. Especially if it had the chance of getting as big as The Walking Dead has.

However, I was a little disappointed, but only because it’s not TWD. Why would it be? It’s completely different from TWD… I just need to first get that through my head. It’s more horrifying than zombies. Just having it on my nightstand creeped me out.

From what I’ve gathered while reading volume one is, Kyle lives in a town where it seems everyone is possessed by/ or has been possessed by demons at one time in their life. Kyle lost his mom to this, his family, his everything. He teams up with the Reverend and they try to work together to stop these possessions. Soon, I believe the Devil shows up, or at least I think it’s the devil.

Not too much happens in the first volume, we’re just introduced to the characters and Kyle’s past. I’m assuming Kyle is immune to being possessed.

Will I read on? Possibly, I might give the second volume a chance.

Supposedly, the show is going to come on. Here’s the trailer for it. It looks way better than the comic!

 

 

Leave a Reply

