True by Erin McCarthy Book Review

Title: True (True Believers #1)17332551

Author: Erin McCarthy

Genre: New Adult

Overall Emotions: Gross…what… meh…

Rating: 2/5 Stars




 

When Rory Macintosh’s roommates find out that their studious and shy friend has never been with a guy, they decide that, as an act of kindness they’ll help her lose her virginity by hiring confident, tattooed bad boy Tyler Mann to do the job…unbeknownst to Rory.

Tyler knows he’s not good enough for Rory. She’s smart, doctor smart, while he’s barely scraping by at his EMT program, hoping to pull his younger brothers out of the hell their druggy mother has left them in. But he can’t resist taking up her roommates on an opportunity to get to know her better. There’s something about her honesty that keeps him coming back when he knows he shouldn’t…

Torn between common sense and desire, the two find themselves caught up in a passionate relationship. But when Tyler’s broken family threatens to destroy his future, and hers, Rory will need to decide whether to cut her ties to his risky world or follow her heart, no matter what the cost…




 

I’m always very cautious when stepping into the realm of new adult because the content is usually a bit out there. My friend recommended this one to me and she read it in about a day, followed by the rest of the series in a week. I, however, wasn’t too fond of this book, but I wanted to love it. The author is local to me, and the book is even set around University of Cincinnati, so everything that happens is logical, but I didn’t like reading it.

Here’s the thing, most of the time I was highly grossed out from Tyler’s chain smoking addiction. I wondered why Rory was attracted to him because the smoking really bothered me. If Tyler hadn’t been a stress smoker, I may have found him attractive but he’s now my least favorite book boyfriend.  I do think Rory was amazing at looking past all of Tyler’s family issues, but I didn’t understand why a girl like her would even be hanging out with friends like Jess who were doing drugs.

Speaking of Jess… I think I hated her more than Tyler’s pill addicted mother. I felt like she was never actually okay with Rory and Tyler being together (her and Tyler used to hook up), she just seemed to have this attitude throughout the book.

I don’t think I’ll continue this series, just because I didn’t fall in love with any of the characters.

I’ve never had good luck searching for a new adult book without all of the same troupes of bad boys in college. Any recommendations out there?

 

Leave a Reply

