IT (Mini Series) VS IT (2017 Movie) Review

***Possible Spoilers***

 

A few months back, I saw a FaceBook event near me that would be taking place where you could see the remake of IT, go in a local haunted house and take a midnight cruise down the Ohio river for only about $40 a person. My husband and I are pretty decent fans of horror and I just love Halloween and fall in general. So I knew we had to do this event, the thing was, we had never seen the original IT.

We waited until the week before to watch the original and let me just say I was very disappointing. I grew up hearing my dad say how scary the movie was and that I should never watch it so I did my best to avoid it. First, we didn’t realize it was three hours long, so we didn’t even watch the last hour because it was just so awful.

Disclaimer: I’m not a fan of Stephen King’s books or most of his other movie adaptations, so I’m just reviewing what I know from the movies. 

There was only one moment I couldn’t watch because I expected a ton of gore or something and that’s the scene where they’re in the sewer and the bully gets pulled through one of the tiny tubes.

OwpVl

I expected to have nightmares, but if anything, I laughed about Pennywise in this version.

 

 

Now, since we had to wait a week after the release, I heard a ton of people talking up the remake. My husband couldn’t get away from people asking what he thought about it, we were missing out, so when Saturday finally came around, I was ready!

Let me tell you, this remake was amazing! It was just creepy enough, but still had amazing humor. The child actors in this did a great job. And I loved seeing ‘Mike’ from Stranger Things, he was probably my favorite character because he was constantly making jokes in order to not feel as scared.

anigif_sub-buzz-30509-1501191266-12

 

There were three scenes that I had to turn my head for:

  1. The scene where IT takes Georgie in this version. It was way more graphic than the original. I did NOT expect IT to bite his arm off and then Georgie try to crawl away. That killed me!
  2. The scene where Mike is helping his (I assume) grandpa with the sheep and they’re shooting them with the little gun. I’m not a fan of watching animals die in movies. I also looked away when the bullies tried to shoot the cat, I probably would have walked out if that had happened.
  3. The final scene I couldn’t stomach to watch was when one of the bullies kills his father. It was so sinister.

tumblr_oo95syGqCc1rp0vkjo1_500

 

Now, though I would give the IT remake a full five stars, there was one thing that REALLY bothered me. It felt like every main adult that we encountered had some sketchy pedophile child molester vibe to them. Even the librarian bothered me. I know that two of the characters were meant to be taken that way, Bev’s father and Patrick (one of the bullies), but even Eddie’s mom was sketchy. Was it meant to feel like that?

There was a Stranger Things vibe to this, I think that might be why I liked it so much. The original was just too cheesy and I understand that it came out 27 years ago so the visuals and what not are not going to be up to par with what I’m used to seeing.

With all this said, I don’t think you need to see the original to enjoy the new. I think you’ll be just fine seeing the new one!

Leave a Reply

